EU imposes sanctions on 21 persons after Crimea move

th (8)

The Council of the European Union (EU) on Monday adopted sanctions against 21 persons, identifying them as “responsible for actions threatening Ukraine’s territorial integrity.”

“The Council has today adopted EU restrictive measures against persons responsible for actions which undermine or threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine as well as persons and entities associated with them,” said a EU statement issued after a meeting of the 28-member bloc’s foreign ministers.

According to the statement, 21 persons have been identified and targeted with a travel ban and a freeze of their assets within the EU.

A separate statement issued Monday by the Council of the EU said the EU urge Russia to take steps to de-escalate the crisis and begin direct discussions with the government of Ukraine.

The Crimean parliament declared independence from Ukraine on Monday, after official results showed 96.77 percent of Crimean voters chose to join Russia in Sunday’s referendum.

The Crimea crisis began late February following the ouster of pro-Russian Ukrainian President Viktor Yanukovych, who suspended talks for the Association Agreement with European Union November last year.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s